Early Years

Assistant Headteacher: Clare Jaques

The Early Years curriculum taught in Class 1 is based upon the government’s National Guidelines for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Early years learning concentrates on seven areas split between prime and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development.

The specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design.

This is delivered through a combination of modular themes and subject based lessons and is relevant to children’s varying levels of development and understanding. This is supported by the Speech Therapist and Home School Liaison Worker in collaborative and withdrawal sessions. Children are encouraged to look at and explore the world around them as well as developing good behaviour and self-control.

Work in the classroom is supported by other real life experiences and activities including swimming, craft, cooking, art, computers, gym and dance as well as a variety of educational visits. Activities will be varied. They may be:

  • Structured
  • Adult led
  • Free choice

While undertaking these activities we want your child to:

  • experiment
  • find out
  • look and listen
  • become more physically confident
  • develop co-ordination
  • develop language skills
  • develop independence, self-esteem and confidence
  • to make choices
  • to solve problems

Above all the children learn through play which is their ‘work’.

Read more in our handbook: